Jul 24, 2013

Too Loud in Here

 photo cover_zps5c521874.jpg
Photos by Patrick Baluyut



I like being busy. I like feeling busy. And when I didn't have to do all the things I have to do now, I wish I did. Does that make sense?

 photo 2_zpsb1bdbd80.jpg

If you've known/been following me for a while, you'll know I've always wanted to work in media--within the fashion/beauty industry to be exact. Just a little over a year ago, I was working for a small insurance brokerage and everyday I wished for a chance to get my foot in the door.

I had completed an editorial internship with a major beauty magazine just a couple of years back; but the sad reality is that one internship is not good enough, and I couldn't afford to do another one for free.

But I didn't give up. I knew it was going to happen eventually, and though I saw other people my age getting to do what I wanted to do sooner than I could, I just knew my path would be different.

Fast forward to August of last year, I started working for an online beauty retailer as a copywriter. I knew this was my stepping stone, and next thing you know I'm a web merchandiser for a major home shopping channel!

But sometime in between all that, 2013 was the start of my career in fashion. As a blogger, I attended Toronto Fashion Week for the first time along with other industry events. Eventually it led me to becoming media for the first-ever Canada Philippine Fashion Week in Toronto and from that, I met the editorial director of Accent Magazine and was asked to be their Fashion Editor.

As you can imagine, my plate's not filled to the edge yet but it's gotten pretty overwhelming. I feel so blessed to have been given all these opportunities and the saying is true--when it rains, it pours. And I'm not about to let the rain stop.

There are times when the overwhelming feeling can take over and it's on those days that I take a step back and relax a bit (unless I have a deadline that day, of course!). I find that my days are filled from the time I wake up to the time my head hits the pillow. And I'm not complaining, which is why I find it crucial to take a 'refresher' break every now and then.

The weekend of my birthday, Patrick took me to Niagara Falls to get some R&R. As hard as I tried to get a bit of extra work done, I couldn't resist enjoying being away from it all, even for just a few days.

 photo 3_zps789349a1.jpg

 photo 4_zps2508396a.jpg

I'm wearing: H&M NYC cap, sister's sweater, Wilfred Free Yasmin dress, Nike Dunk Sky Hi Sneakers, vintage Seiko watch

13 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet Store http://www.michaelkorsoutletsstores.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburch-outlet.us.org

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katesapdeoutlet.us.org

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.outlettoryburch.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutletusa.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-korsoutletstores.us.com

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.us.org

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete

What do you think of today's post?